A Time For Concentration

I’ve been so busy trying to stay ahead of my game. I’ve become a person who is led by the demands of those in charge: my employer, and my instructors. The amount of free time I have is an absolute joke. Never, could I have imagined what I was in for when I registered for college classes last June. I’m beginning to understand the crucial importance of time management. Reality is, my time is not my own anymore.

In only a few short weeks I will be taking all the finals in my first semester. Have I grown as a person? Dare I say yes…or should I be prepared to say, it’s been a rude awakening. My youngest son put it this way, “I know you have a lot on your plate right now Mom, but in the end it will all be worth it, you’re just building character.”

“Building character”, ¬†hmm…As I build character, under the stress of the situation, I seem to fall back into my old habits. I’ve stumbled, and because of it, I’ve beat myself up. Yet, in the middle of it all I’ve managed to get back up on my feet. I’ve managed to face another day in the classroom. I’ve managed to work my shift another night, and I’ve managed to finish my homework assignments with a few minutes to spare. This has been the hardest, most grueling year of my life. One thing I must hang onto is the fact that I am living alone, and I have not allowed the eating disorder to take control of the situation.

Stumbling is something I may very well do for the rest of my life. However, to be able to shut down the thoughts and demands of ED while trying hard to deal with what appears at times to be a hopeless situation, is more “character building” than my boy will ever comprehend.

I made it through Thanksgiving with a bit of secret suffering. For the next few weeks I will try to concentrate on my grades instead of my eating disorder. I find that the more I concentrate on other issues, ED has a way of lying on a soft pillow against the wall…always peering over at me, yet jumping up only when I give her a chance to speak. At this point, I choose to keep her quiet. I don’t need the baggage of ED to drag me down. I don’t physically have the strength to keep up with a full-blown relationship with my eating disorder right now. With the help from God above, at least for the moment, she will have to stay out of my path.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://myeatingdisorderruledmylife.wordpress.com/2012/11/27/a-time-for-concentration/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Finals. Wow. Your post sounds very strong. What an incredible load you are carrying, and carrying well. I think you hit on something that we all need to remember. The more we can fill our lives with positive things to distract us from our problems, our ‘negatives’ and sufferings, the less we see of those bad things. Not that they always go away…. but knowing how to live to have that control over something that wants to control us…

    Way to go!

    Good luck on your tests!

    I hope you are having enough free time to take a moment and love your little home!

  2. Hello again!
    Free time is almost next to none, but when I have it, it is usually spent in my new abode. Thank you for reading, and keep your blog posts comming too!


Leave a Reply

