My Diamond In The Rough

ImageIt’s been three months since I moved into my new neighborhood. I’ve struggled, I’ve laughed, I’ve worked hard and I’ve cried…Now I’ve come to the end of my project. Through it all I’ve learned how to find my inner strength to make important decisions on my own. I’ve also had to search for peace within myself. Many, many nights have been wasted on negative thoughts clogging my brain. Lately, I’ve come to the conclusion that I am at a place in my life in which I am destined to be. I have relied on the strengthย of other people to provide me with happiness and comfort. I’ve never been able to face my own demons on my own, yet now I’m forced to do so.

I’m looking forward to the next chapter in my life as I am confident that it will be a positive experience for me. In less than three weeks I will be a full time student at our local College. I’ll be working the night shift and sleeping throughout the afternoon. I’m scared, I’m nervous, and I’m extremely excited to move on without the behaviors of my past interfering with my plans to reconstruct my future. Ties from my past have been severed, therefore the only thing I’m able to do at this point is to move on, move forward and excel in ways I’ve not yet done before.

My biggest cheerleader is that of my youngest son, he has given me hope in every form of the word, and I am the most fortunate mother to have been blessed with him. I thank you Michael for all your support, I love you dearly and unconditionally.

Mind you, moving in the forward direction without my eating disorder is the biggest challenge I’ve ever faced, always struggling and fighting the distorted thoughts. In the same breath, my strength is even surprising to myself as I’m gaining ground every day that I pass over the desires to give in to old habits. Absolutely none of my success has been achieved on my own account. Dear God, I thank you for helping me to keep my eyes open and to realize my true potential.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://myeatingdisorderruledmylife.wordpress.com/2012/08/08/my-diamond-in-the-rough/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

7 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I love your pool! Good job!! And I can read your excitement and nervousness. School, work, sleep, and a pool. All good things to fill your life with! ๐Ÿ™‚ Here you go Lori, take a dive in to the rest of your fulfilling life! (Pun intended, bad as it is! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • I am very blessed, I just have to remember that! And yes, I am diving in:) HEAD FIRST!

      • Don’t forget to paddle paddle paddle!!!!! You are blessed. But don’t forget, you are a blessing as well. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Hi Lori, I hope all is going well with you. I watch for your posts. Please be taking care of yourself!

    • I’m moving in right direction, and thank you so much for your concern. Before I know it, my classes will start and I’ll be too busy to sit and wollow in anything other than what needs to be done. Looking forward to it. My posts will most likely be quite sparse, but nevertheless, I’ll keep in touch one way or another. Again, thank you for your concern, you are truely a genuine caring human being:)

      • Being busy can be SUCH a blessing. And you’re welcome. I hope you love your next adventure. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Just saying HI! I know you’re busy. But I thought about you today and thought I would share that. ๐Ÿ™‚


Leave a Reply

